Dr. Lorrin Pang, MD to speak on GMOs at UHH Sat. evening

Dr. Lorrin Pang has been
Featured in several movies about
GMOs in Hawaii, including
 ”Islands at Risk” and “Round Up
Ready Nation” 

Dr. Pang will be giving a presentation on the risks of 
GMO’s and pesticides followed by a lively discussion.
 Saturday, April 19th at 7pm  at 
UH Science and Technology Building (STB), room 108
(on Lanikaula St. across from Church of the Holy Cross)

Dr. Lorrin Pang is one of most qualified persons in the state to talk about
the subject.  He is an M.D.
 A Medical Researcher & Genetic
Expert, A Health Officer for
Maui County and a Health Dept.
Consultant- World Health
Organization (WHO). 
 Spread the word- 
Aloha!

Talk About a Bomb Shell!

U.S. Bombs Hawaii Island with B-2 and B-52 Bombers flown from Louisiana and Missouri !

B-2-MOP

B-2 bomber shown with 30,000 pound GBU-57 Massive Ordnance Penetrator (MOP)

B-2 Spirit stealth bombers

believed to contains a large amount of depleted uranium and able to penetrate 200 feet of concrete before exploding, thus being capable to hit and destroy deeply buried targets like bunkers in Russia, Iran, etc.

      Two B-2 “Batwing” Stealth Bombers and two B-52 Stratofortress bombers bombed the 133,000-acre Pohakuloa Training Area (PTA) in the middle of Hawaii Island.on April 2 or the week prior. According to a feature story in The Honolulu Star-Advertiser on Sat. 4/5/14 the planes dropped 14 inert practice bombs – eight 500 pound BDU-50s by the B-52s and six 2,000 pound BDU-56s by the B-2s. The story was also published in http://theaviationist.com/2014/04/03/b-52-b-2-global-strike/ . But not a word in the Hawaii Tribune-Herald and West Hawaii Today, the 2 daily newspapers on the island bombed. How come?

It’s not every day bombers fly 20 hour round-trips and spend nearly a million dollars in fuel to bomb PTA. These same Big Island dailies regularly run pro military propaganda stories written by the military touting things like school kids visiting PTA (without of course ever mentioning the kids possible exposure to depleted uranium at the contaminated base), so why not a story on our island being bombed by 2 B-52s from Barksdale A.F. B. in Louisiana and 2 B-2s from Whiteman A.F.B. in Missouri? Go figure! According to the Air Force, it was a coordinated range operation which included low approach training.

      Training for what? A bunker buster attack on Iran, Syria, Russia, North Korea? Just the cost of fuel alone used in these bombing missions could have fed a lot of hungry people.

Aloha ‘Aina NOT

Military Bombing!

1.Mourn all victims of violence. 2. Reject war as a solution. 3. Defend civil liberties. 4. Oppose all discrimination, anti-Islamic, anti-Semitic, anti-Hawaiian, etc.  5. Seek peace through justice in Hawai`i and around the world.
Malu `Aina Center for Non-violent Education & Action P.O. Box 489 Ola’a (Kurtistown), Hawai`i 96760.
Phone (808) 966-7622Email ja@malu-aina.org  http://www.malu-aina.org

Hilo Peace Vigil leaflet (April 11, 2014 –655th week) – Friday 3:30-5PM downtown Post Office

Hilo “March for Aloha Aina” 4/26/14

March 4 Aloha ‘Aina Flyer v.4_Craig’s Drawing

Join the Hilo “March for Aloha Aina”

Aloha Peace Ohana,
Below is an email from March organizers and attached is their flyer about the “March for Aloha ‘Aina.”  Please pass the word and join this important solidarity action to take care of the land.
Mahalo.
Jim Albertini

Aloha e ‘ohana:)
Please find attached our “March for Aloha ‘Aina” flyer(s) to print and/or distribute/post.
Date: Saturday, 4/26/14
Location: Merrie Monarch Parade
Time: 8am at King Kamehameha Statue
Attire: Green colored shirt/clothing
Signs: Positive Aloha ‘Aina
For more information contact: Craig Neff (808) 934-7171

Let’s all stand in solidarity FOR Aloha ‘Aina!

Ohana Ho’opakele Press Release

Press Release: Stop Attempt by the State of Hawaii to bring the Prison-Industrial Complex to Hawaii

—–Original Message—–
From: Jim Albertini <ja@malu-aina.org>
To: William Cole <wcole@staradvertiser.com>; Dwight Kondo <lightonhawaii@yahoo.com>; Alan McNarie <amcnarie@yahoo.com>; Dave Corrigan <davecorrigan2002@yahoo.com>; david schlesinger <david@bigisland-bigisland.com>; Tiffiny <newswoman@me.com>; Yamada, Lara <lyamada@kitv.com>; Ian Lind <ilind@hawaii.rr.com>; Hollyn Johnson <hjohnson@hawaiitribune-herald.com>; David Bock <dbock@hawaiitribune-herald.com>; Joan Conrow <joanconrow@hawaiiantel.net>; kgmb tv9 <brenda_salgado@hotmail.com>; KBOO <pmnews@kboo.org>; ncook-lauer <ncook-lauer@westhawaiitoday.com>; Alan McNarie <amcnarie@yahoo.com>; aphonolulu <aphonolulu@ap.org>; Bob Nichols <bob.bobnichols@gmail.com>; news <news@hawaii247.com>; Ikaika Hussey <ikaikahussey@gmail.com>; Stephen Paulmier <stephen.paulmier@verizon.net>; Ian Lind <ilind@hawaii.rr.com>; Dave Smith <newsdesk@bigislandnow.com>; Yisa Var <editor@bigislandweekly.com>; sens <sens@capitol.hawaii.gov>; reps <reps@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Bobby Command <bcommand@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Brenda Ford <bford@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Charmaine Shigemura <cshigemura@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Dennis Onishi <donishi@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Zendo kern <zkern@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Val Poindexter <vpoindexter@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Mayor B. Kenoi <wkenoi@co.hawaii.hi.us>; jyoshimoto <jyoshimoto@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Dru Kanuha <dkanuha@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Greggor Ilagan <gilagan@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Karen Eoff <KEOFF@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Margaret Wille <mwille@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Mitchell Roth <mroth@co.hawaii.hi.us>; Cindy Evans <repevans@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Clifton Tsuji <reptsuji@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Faye Hanohano <rephanohano@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Gil Kahele <senkahele@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Josh Green <joshuaboothgreen@yahoo.com>; Mazie Hirono <info@mazieforhawaii.com>; Richard Onishi <reponishi@capitol.hawaii.gov>; Russell Ruderman <senruderman@capitol.hawaii.gov>; becivil <becivil@civilbeat.com>; srodrigues <srodrigues@olelo.org>; karin <karin@hawaii247.com>; news <news@hawaiinewsnow.com>; news <news@hawaiipublicradio.org>; citydesk <citydesk@staradvertiser.com>; tips <tips@hawaiireporter.com>; scoop <scoop@huffingtonpost.com>; kalamalama <kalamalama@hpu.edu>; kaleo <kaleo@kaleo.org>; email <email@pbshawaii.org>; news <news@khon2.com>; cparker <cparker@kitv.com>; lgeller <lgeller@igc.org>; production <production@ktuh.org>; thefner <thefner@midweek.com>; editor <editor@themolokaidispatch.com>; ddeponte <ddeponte@olelo.org>; pacific <pacific@bizjournals.com>; news <news@hawaiiindependent.net>
Cc: Palikapu Dedman <palikapud@gmail.com>; Ronsan2224 <Ronsan2224@aol.com>; Sam Kaleleiki <kupunasam@gmail.com>; Nohea Crutcher <luellacrutcher@yahoo.com>; Jim Albertini <ja@malu-aina.org>
Sent: Thu, Apr 3, 2014 2:21 pm
Subject: Press Release: Stop Attempt by the State of Hawaii to bring the Prison-Industrial Complex to Hawaii

Press Release: Stop Attempt by the State of Hawaii to bring the Prison-Industrial Complex to Hawaii
April 3, 2014

From Ohana Ho’opakele
www.ohanahoopakele.org
Further contact: Palikapu Dedman, president  959-4930
Palikapu Dedman <palikapud@gmail.com>
Ron Fujiyoshi, Treasurer 959-9775
“Ronsan2224@aol.com” <Ronsan2224@aol.com>
Stop Attempt by the State of Hawaii to bring the Prison-Industrial Complex to Hawaii
      “Ohana Ho’opakele president, Palikapu Dedman, said “Ohana Ho’opakele opposes any effort to expand the state’s prison system. This includes the current effort as stated in SCR 120 now before the legislature. SCR 120 is an attempt to bring the Prison-Industrial Complex to Hawaii to make money off the misery of Native Hawaiians who make up more than 60% of Hawaii’s prison population.”
      SCR 120 was recently passed out of the Senate Public Safety, Intergovernmental and Military Affairs Committee, chaired by Will Espero. Community testimony was overwhelmingly opposed to SCR 120. As amended SCR now calls for a fast track for Requests for Proposals (RFP) to be put out for private prison contractors by May 31, 2014 and sets a deadline of Dec. 31, 2014 to select a private prison contractor..
      “Ohana Ho’opakele says prisons do not work. They are proven failures. In 1970 there were fewer than 1000 prisoners. Today there are nearly 6,000 prisoners, 4,000 of which are Hawaiians. It is time to begin reducing, not expanding, Hawaii’s prison populations by initiating Hawaiian traditional Pu’uhonua (Wellness Centers) on every island,” says Dedman. “Pu’uhonua are places of healing where the traditional ho’oponopono process of making right will be used to help heal individuals, families, and communities. Ohana Ho’opakele believes, and so do nearly 2000 supporters who have signed our KAHEA, that Pu’uhonua centers are for the good of all Hawaii’s people and can provide real hope in saving money, reducing recidivism, crime prevention, and long-term positive change,” says Dedman. According to Dedman, “private prisons are profit making corporations. There in the bed business. To them Hawaiians are commodities upon which to profit. Private prisons are not interested in reducing the number of people going to prison. They want full occupancy and expansion of prison. The more prisoners, the more they profit.”
      Dedman says “prisons are breeding grounds for crime and a burden on the taxpayers. $40,000 per head. It’s time we focus on positive solutions. Pu’uhonua and Ho’oponopono are traditional practices of restoring balance in individuals, our families, and communities. We need to once again restore this balance in the scales of justice. It’s time to let Hawaiians take care of ourselves. No More prisons – public or private. Defeat SCR 120 and any similar efforts. Pu’uhonua is the way to go.”
-pau-